Caramel Lovers Unite! National Caramel Day + 145 Recipes

Caramel Lovers Unite! National Caramel Day + 145 Recipes

Celebrate caramel, that ooey-gooey delicious candy that we all know and love for delicious desserts and snacks, on National Caramel Day.

Caramel is made from heating a combination of sugars. Since today is National Caramel Day, what better way to celebrate than to look at a quick history of the candy and give you dozens of recipes to try out for your own?

Originally Published On: April 5, 2018

Last Updated On: April 23, 2020

The History of Caramel

Caramel, or a very similar candy, was first made in the mid-1800s. Most of the candy at that time was hard candy. But a few candy makers were also producing a softer candy. It might not have been exactly the caramel we know today, but it was similar.

It’s said that Hershey’s candy also started with caramel. When he was trying to find a way to cover the caramel, he found a love for chocolate.

There are a few different types of caramel. They are made from a few basic ingredients: milk, condensed milk, corn syrup, sugar, oil, butter, and molasses. The milk keeps the caramel soft. The corn syrup and molasses add the sweet flavor. Caramel stays elastic because of the fatty ingredients.

Source: https://www.everydayhealth.com/diet-nutrition/welcome-candy-land-history-caramels/

National Caramel Day

National Caramel Day is always celebrated on April 5. While the origins are unknown, it is a day for caramel-lovers to recognize and enjoy the delicious treat.

On social media, you can look for #NationalCaramelDay to see what others are making.

I personally love caramel. It’s sweet but not overpowering. But, strangely, as much as I love it, I only have two recipes that have caramel in them. I think it’s time to find a few more soon!

Caramel cockroach clusters with and without chocolate on a wooden serving dish placed on a grey-blue placemat on a wooden table
Chocolate and Caramel Cockroach Clusters
Honeydukes sells candy called cockroach clusters. While the wizarding world may use roaches, I used chocolate, caramel, pecans, and cereal!
View The Recipe
Piece of better-than-sex cake on a white plate with a bite taken out of it next to a fork with the pan in the backdrop on a wooden surface
Better Than Sex Cake
Chocolate. Caramel. Hot Fudge. Whipped Topping. Butterscotch Chips. This cake has it all and may almost be better than sex!
View The Recipe

Caramel Recipes

Alfojores (South American Sandwich Cookies with Dulce de Leche)https://www.thespicedlife.com/alfajores-creativecookieexchange/
Almond Caramel Popcornhttps://www.smalltownwoman.com/almond-caramel-popcorn/
Apple & Butternut Squash Galette with Chai Buckwheat Crust and Coconut Caramel Drizzlehttps://www.moonandspoonandyum.com/blog/apple-butternut-squash-galette-with-chai-buckwheat-crust-and-coconut-caramel-drizzle-gluten-free
Apple Caramel Cream Cheese Bundt Cakehttps://www.smalltownwoman.com/apple-caramel-cream-cheese-bundt-cake/
Apple Cinnamon Scones with Salted Caramel Drizzlehttps://familyaroundthetable.com/2016/05/05/apple-cinnamon-scones-salted-caramel-drizzle/
Apple Spice Cupcakes with Caramel Saucehttps://www.upstateramblings.com/apple-spice-cupcakes-with-caramel-sauce/
Apple Wontons with Caramel Dipping Saucehttps://www.smalltownwoman.com/apple-wontons-with-caramel-dipping-sauce/
Applesauce Cake with Soft Caramel Cream Cheese Frostinghttps://www.cookingwithcarlee.com/2017/09/applesauce-cake-with-soft-caramel-cream.html
Apricot Salted Caramel Oreo Tarthttps://www.kopiaste.org/2017/07/apricot-salted-caramel-oreo-tart/
Baked Caramel Apple Crisphttps://www.delicioustable.com/baked-caramel-apple-crisp-dessert/
Banoffee Piehttps://www.christinascucina.com/banoffee-pie-a-simple-but-sensational-banana-toffee-and-fresh-cream-dessert/
Bird’s Nest Apple Caramel Cakehttp://www.mykitchenlove.com/birds-nest-apple-caramel-cake/
Bourbon Caramel Apple Ciderhttps://www.dashofjazz.com/recipe/bourbon-caramel-apple-cider
Breaded Fried Bananashttp://hadiaslebanesecuisine.com/newsite/recipe-items/breaded-fried-bananas/
Brown Butter Vanilla Birthday Cake with Salted Caramel Frostinghttps://www.dashofjazz.com/recipe/my-birthday-cake
Butter Pecan Oatmeal Cookieshttps://butteryourbiscuit.com/caramel-pecan-oatmeal-cookies/
Butterscotch Bourbon Budino with Salted Caramelhttps://www.platingsandpairings.com/butterscotch-bourbon-budino-with-salted-caramel/
Caramel Apple Baked Donutshttps://savingdollarsandsense.com/caramel-apple-baked-donuts/
Caramel Apple Cake Recipehttps://www.upstateramblings.com/carmel-apple-bundt-cake-recipe/
Caramel Apple Cider Cookieshttps://www.centsablemomma.com/caramel-apple-cider-cookies-recipe/
Caramel Apple Cider Cupcakeshttp://hungerthirstplay.com/caramel-apple-cider-cupcakes/
Caramel Apple Cookieshttp://themondaybox.com/2015/11/caramel-apple-cookies/
Caramel Apple Cream Cheese Crescent Ringhttp://cincyshopper.com/caramel-apple-cream-cheese-crescent-ring/
Caramel Apple Crisphttps://savingdollarsandsense.com/caramel-apple-crisp-recipe/
Caramel Apple Cupcakeshttp://cincyshopper.com/caramel-apple-cupcakes-recipe/
Caramel Apple Muffinshttps://www.coffeewithus3.com/caramel-apple-muffins/
Caramel Apple Muffins Low Carbhttps://beautyandthefoodie.com/caramel-apple-muffins-low-carb/
Caramel Apple Nut Barshttps://familyaroundthetable.com/2017/09/25/caramel-apple-nut-bars/
Caramel Apple Oatmeal Carmelita Barshttps://bakingamoment.com/caramel-apple-oatmeal-carmelita-bars/
Caramel Apple Pie Cookieshttp://cincyshopper.com/caramel-apple-pie-cookies/
Caramel Apple Sticky Bunshttps://mooreorlesscooking.com/2013/11/10/caramel-apple-sticky-buns/
Caramel Apple Taquitoshttp://cincyshopper.com/caramel-apple-taquitos/
Caramel Apple Taquitos Recipehttps://savingdollarsandsense.com/caramel-apple-taquitos-recipe/
Caramel Apple Tarthttps://whatagirleats.com/caramel-apple-tart/
Caramel Apples Snickers Saladhttps://dancingthroughtherain.com/caramel-apples-snickers-salad/
Caramel Banana Muffinshttps://www.simplystacie.net/2017/11/caramel-banana-muffins/
Caramel Cakehttps://aprilgolightly.com/caramel-cake-recipe/
Caramel Cashew Cupcakeshttps://spaceshipsandlaserbeams.com/blog/party-food/caramel-cashew-cupcakes
Caramel Chocolate Peanut Barshttp://themondaybox.com/2016/01/caramel-chocolate-peanut-bars/
Caramel Cream Cheese Frostinghttp://www.thekitchenismyplayground.com/2017/10/caramel-cream-cheese-frosting.html
Caramel Peanut Butter Cookie Cupshttps://www.thisisnotdietfood.com/caramel-peanut-butter-cookie-cups/
Caramel Pear Charlottehttps://bakingamoment.com/caramel-pear-charlotte/
Caramel Pecan Banana Date Breadhttps://www.homemadefoodjunkie.com/caramel-pecan-banana-date-bread/
Caramel Pecan Barhttps://www.organizedisland.com/caramel-pecan-bar-recipe/
Caramel Pecan Cheesecakehttps://bakingamoment.com/caramel-pecan-cheesecake/
Caramel Popcornhttps://www.beyondthechickencoop.com/caramel-popcorn/
Caramel Popcorn with Peanutshttp://themondaybox.com/2017/01/caramel-popcorn-peanuts/
Caramel Shortcakehttps://www.christinascucina.com/how-to-make-shortbread/
Caramel Squares with Fruit Nutshttps://veenaazmanov.com/caramel-squares-fruit-nut-halva/
Caramel Walnut Coffee Cakehttps://myculturedpalate.com/caramel-walnut-coffee-cake/
Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting & Caramel Saucehttps://spaceshipsandlaserbeams.com/blog/cool-cakes/carrot-cake-with-cream-cheese-frosting-caramel-sauce
Cast Iron Blue Ribbon Caramel Apple Piehttps://thisoldgal.com/blue-ribbon-caramel-apple-pie/
Chocolate and Salted Bourbon Caramel Cupcakeshttp://thesimple-sweetlife.com/2018/02/19/chocolate-and-salted-bourbon-caramel-cupcakes/
Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake Tartletshttps://bakingamoment.com/chocolate-caramel-cheesecake-tartlets/
Chocolate Covered Caramel Popcorn Ballshttps://mooreorlesscooking.com/2014/10/23/chocolate-covered-caramel-popcorn-balls/
Chocolate Espresso Caramel Browniehttps://cookingontheweekends.com/2012/11/flourless-chocolate-espresso-caramel-brownies/
Chocolate Meringue Nests with Salted Caramel Sauce and Cacoa Nibshttps://www.thespicedlife.com/chocolate-meringue-nests-with-salted-caramel-sauce-and-cacoa-nibs/
Chocolate Pecan Caramel Turtleshttps://www.smalltownwoman.com/chocolate-pecan-caramel-turtles/
Cinnamon Dessert Nachos with Salted Caramel Apple Diphttps://www.theflavorbender.com/cinnamon-dessert-nachos-with-salted-caramel-apple-dip/
Coffee Cupcakes Salted Caramel Frostinghttps://www.homemadefoodjunkie.com/coffee-cupcakes-salted-caramel-frosting/
Copycat Starbucks Caramel Frappeccinohttps://dancingthroughtherain.com/copycat-starbucks-caramel-frappuccino/
Craving Barshttps://www.dashofjazz.com/recipe/craving-bars
Creamy Caramel Sweetened Condensed Frostinghttps://www.cookingwithcarlee.com/2017/07/creamy-caramel-sweetened-condensed-milk.html
Crunchy Chocolate Pumpkin Caramelshttps://www.theflavorbender.com/crunchy-chocolate-pumpkin-caramels-rice-krispie-bars/
Dairy-Free Salted Caramel Ice Cream Piehttps://www.allergyfreealaska.com/dairy-free-salted-caramel-ice-cream-pie/
Dark Chocolate Caramel Pecan Bacon Candyhttp://www.honeyandlime.co/2013/07/dark-chocolate-caramel-bacon-pecan-candy-recipe.html
Double Caramel Cookieshttps://spaceshipsandlaserbeams.com/blog/party-food/double-caramel-cookies
Earl Grey Creme Caramelhttps://bakingamoment.com/earl-grey-creme-caramel/
Easy Apple Tart with Yogurt Filling and Caramel Saucehttps://nourishnutritionblog.com/easy-apple-tart/
Easy Vegan Dark Chocolate Caramel Cupshttps://themovementmenu.com/recipes/vegan-dark-chocolate-caramel/
English Sticky Toffee Puddinghttp://www.lavenderandmacarons.com/desserts/english-sticky-toffee-pudding-2/
Five Minute Creamy Caramel Frappuccinohttps://www.smalltownwoman.com/five-minute-creamy-caramel-frappuccino/
Fresh Honeycrisp Apple Cake with To-Die-For Caramel Buttercream Frostinghttps://unsophisticook.com/apple-cake-recipe/
Gluten-Free Caramel Apple Crisphttps://www.whattheforkfoodblog.com/2016/10/30/gluten-free-caramel-apple-crisp-recipe/
Gluten-Free Caramel Apple Crisp in Jarshttp://mygluten-freekitchen.com/gluten-free-caramel-apple-crisp-in-jars/
Gluten-Free Caramel Macchiato Cakehttps://www.glutenfreepalate.com/caramel-macchiato-cake/
Gluten-Free Cheesecake Brownies with Dulce de Lechehttps://myglutenfreemiami.com/gluten-free-cheesecake-brownies-dulce-de-leche/
Gluten-Free Salted Caramel Browniehttps://confessionsofanover-workedmom.com/salted-caramel-brownie-recipe-gluten-free/
Grilled Caramel Apple Crunchhttps://www.coffeewithus3.com/grilled-caramel-apple-crunch/
Groovy Caramel Barshttps://mooreorlesscooking.com/2012/08/11/groovy-caramel-bars/
Guinness Stout Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes with Salted Caramel Saucehttps://whatagirleats.com/guinness-stout-dark-chocolate-pudding-cakes-with-salted-caramel-sauce/
Healthier Chocolate Caramel Cookiehttps://avirtualvegan.com/healthier-chocolate-caramel-cookie-cups/
Healthy Caramel Apple Diphttps://pinkfortitude.com/caramel-apple-dip/
Homemade Caramel Banana Ice Creamhttps://veenaazmanov.com/homemade-caramel-banana-ice-cream/
Homemade Caramel Cornhttps://myculturedpalate.com/homemade-caramel-corn-quick-easy/
Homemade Caramel Sauce in Your Slow Cookerhttps://unsophisticook.com/caramel-sauce-recipe/
Homemade Caramel Vanilla Puddinghttps://www.majhofftakesawife.com/easy-caramel-vanilla-pudding/
Homemade Salted Caramel Brownieshttp://wannabite.com/homemade-salted-caramel-brownies/
How to Make Caramel and Caramel Saucehttps://www.kopiaste.org/2017/06/how-to-make-caramel-and-caramel-sauce/
Individual No-Bake Salted Caramel Cheesecakeshttps://www.whattheforkfoodblog.com/2017/11/12/no-bake-salted-caramel-cheesecakes/
Insanely Delicious Turtle Cookieshttp://www.thekitchenismyplayground.com/2012/09/insanely-delicious-turtle-cookies.html
Instant Pot Chocolate Caramel Cheesecakehttps://gardeninthekitchen.com/instant-pot-chocolate-caramel-cheesecake/
Instant Pot Peanut Butter Caramel Cheesecakehttps://www.supergoldenbakes.com/2018/03/instant-pot-peanut-butter-caramel-cheesecake.html
Instant Pot Turtle Lava Cakehttps://www.onehappyhousewife.com/instant-pot-lava-cake/
Knock Your Socks Off Brownieshttps://mooreorlesscooking.com/2012/10/06/knock-your-socks-off-brownies-video/
Low Carb Pecan Pie Biteshttp://www.resolutioneats.com/blog/low-carb-pecan-pie-bites
Marshmallow Chocolate Caramel Cheesecakehttps://sweetandsavorymeals.com/toasted-marshmallow-chocolate-caramel-cheesecake/
Mastic White Chocolate Blondies with Salted Caramelhttps://www.kopiaste.org/2017/09/mastic-white-chocolate-blondies-salted-caramel/
No-Bake Caramel Apple Pie Protein Barshttps://www.onecleverchef.com/no-bake-caramel-apple-pie-protein-bars/
Old Fashioned Bread Pudding with Homemade Caramel Saucehttps://savingdollarsandsense.com/how-to-make-a-bread-pudding/
Peanut Butter, Caramel & Pretzel Biteshttps://numstheword.com/peanut-butter-caramel-pretzel-bites/
Pecan Turtleshttps://numstheword.com/pecan-turtles/
Pistachio Caramel Apple Butter Pancakeshttps://sweetandsavorymeals.com/pistachio-caramel-apple-butter-pancakes/
Pumpkin Pancakes with Cinnamon Caramel Syruphttps://longbournfarm.com/homemade-pancake-mix-pumpkin-pancakes/
Rice Krispie Caramilk Barshttp://www.officiallyglutenfree.com/2015/06/rice-crispy-caramilk-bars/
Salted Caramel Apple Piehttps://shoppingkim.com/salted-caramel-apple-pie-recipe/
Salted Caramel Apple Pie Barshttps://anerdcooks.com/2016/11/03/salted-caramel-apple-pie-bars/
Salted Caramel Brownie Ice Cream with Turtles Clustershttps://bakingamoment.com/salted-caramel-brownie-ice-cream-with-turtles-clusters/
Salted Caramel Brownieshttp://www.theorganickitchen.org/salted-caramel-brownies/
Salted Caramel Butter Barshttps://www.kleinworthco.com/salted-caramel-butter-bars/
Salted Caramel Chocolate Tarthttp://blondieishatkitchen.com/en_US/tart-so-slanym-karamelom-a-cokoladou/
Salted Caramel Cinnamon Rolls http://www.5minutesformom.com/123614/salted-caramel-cinnamon-rolls-recipe/
Salted Caramel Cookie Biteshttps://spaceshipsandlaserbeams.com/blog/party-food/salted-caramel-cookie-bite
Salted Caramel Cookieshttps://dancingthroughtherain.com/salted-caramel-cookies/
Salted Caramel Cupcakeshttp://blondieishatkitchen.com/en_US/cupcakes-so-slanym-karamelom/
Salted Caramel Date Shakehttps://culinaryginger.com/salted-caramel-date-shake/
Salted Caramel Hand Pieshttp://wannabite.com/salted-caramel-hand-pies/
Salted Caramel Ice Cream Shake with Chopped Chocolatehttp://www.theorganickitchen.org/salted-caramel-ice-cream-shake-with-chopped-chocolate/
Salted Caramel Ice-Blended Coffeehttps://aprilgolightly.com/salted-caramel-ice-blended-coffee/
Salted Caramel Lemon Poppy Pound Cakehttps://www.kopiaste.org/2015/06/salted-caramel-lemon-poppy-pound-cake/
Salted Caramel Pecan Cookieshttps://themovementmenu.com/recipes/salted-caramel-pecan-cookies/
Salted Caramel Pecan Popcornhttps://gardeninthekitchen.com/salted-caramel-pecan-popcorn/
Salted Caramel Pretzel Cakehttp://hungerthirstplay.com/salted-caramel-pretzel-cake/
Salted Caramel Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookieshttps://anerdcooks.com/2016/05/02/salted-caramel-pretzel-chocolate-chip-cookies/
Salted Caramel Pretzel Sundaeshttp://www.betondinner.com/salted-caramel-pretzel-sundaes/
Salted Caramel Puddinghttps://bakingamoment.com/salted-caramel-pudding/
Salted Caramel Skillet Cookiehttps://www.kleinworthco.com/salted-caramel-skillet-cookie/
Salted Caramel Sweet Potato Blondieshttps://www.dashofjazz.com/2017/10/17/fall-home-finds-salted-caramel-sweet-potato-blondies-recipe
Salted Caramel Turnovershttp://wannabite.com/salted-caramel-apple-turnovers/
Salted Caramel Yogurt Popsicleshttps://www.platingsandpairings.com/salted-caramel-yogurt-popsicles/
Salted Chipotle Caramel Cornhttp://thymeforcocktails.com/salted-chipotle-caramel-corn/
Salted Chocolate Caramel Tarthttp://www.mykitchenlove.com/cookbook-club-the-new-easy-salted-chocolate-caramel-tart/
Salted Spiced Caramel Potato Cakehttp://cookingontheweekends.com/2013/10/salted-spiced-caramel-potato-cake-recipe-gluten-free/
Samoa Fudge Bombshttps://beautyandthefoodie.com/samoa-fudge-bombs/
Simple Caramel Apple Cupcakeshttps://www.organizedisland.com/simple-caramel-apple-cupcakes/
Simply Perfect Salted Caramel Saucehttps://bakingamoment.com/simply-perfect-salted-caramel-sauce/
Slow Cooker Caramel Apple Diphttp://cincyshopper.com/slow-cooker-caramel-apple-dip/
Soft + Chewy Salted Caramel Cookieshttp://hungerthirstplay.com/salted-caramel-cookies/
Soft and Chewy Caramel Chocolate Cookieshttp://themondaybox.com/2013/09/soft-and-chewy-caramel-chocolate-cookies/
Spiked Caramel Egghttp://www.ayearofcocktails.com/2014/03/spiked-caramel-egg.html?m=1
The Best Caramel Apple Scone Recipehttps://foodal.com/recipes/breakfast/caramel-apple-scones/
Turtle Brownie Bites Recipehttp://www.5minutesformom.com/111676/turtle-brownie-bites-recipe/
Vegan Sweet Potato Pancakes with Caramel Saucehttps://avirtualvegan.com/vegan-sweet-potato-pancakes/
Warm Gingerbread Cake with Salted Caramel Saucehttps://deliciousonadime.com/gingerbread-cake-with-salted-caramel-sauce/
Whole Wheat Caramel Cookieshttp://themondaybox.com/2017/10/whole-wheat-caramel-cookies/

Related Posts

13 thoughts on “Caramel Lovers Unite! National Caramel Day + 145 Recipes”

  1. Now if someone can’t find a caramel recipe they love something is wrong with them. It would take me for ever to work my way through this awesome list.

  2. I love caramel right from coffee, popcorn, pudding.. I love it in everything. The spiked apple cider looks amazing. Thanks for sharing all the recipe links.

  3. While reading your post my mouth was watering thinking of the amazing recipe. I am definitely trying them for the sweet tooth of mine 🙂

  4. I used to love caramel, but I stopped eating dairy, so I thought caramel was out. However, I’ve discovered some vegan caramel recipes, so I’ll be celebrating with you!

  5. angela@marathonsandmotivation.com

    Oh my! This is a fabulous roundup of caramel recipes, can’t wait to try a few of these!

  6. There are so many options for the caramel and its one of the good stuff I like to eat. I’m excited to try some of it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

shares